The CJ3A Page CJ3B.info

Author Topic: Clutch replacement  (Read 331 times)

Offline Quebec Jeep

• SMF Administrator
  • Flatfender Master
  • CJ-3A 1950
    • View Profile
Clutch replacement
« on: November 18, 2019, 11:30:55 AM »
What would be the easiest way to replace the clutch on my CJ3A 1950?

I have no mechanical knowledge or a little.

I do have an engine hoist/crane if needed.
I'm jeepcoholic!

Offline athawk11

• SMF Administrator
  • Flatfender Master
  • 1949 CJ3A
    • View Profile
Re: Clutch replacement
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2019, 01:20:21 PM »
Hello Pascal!

Uhg  / Yuke.

Replacing the clutch is one of those jobs that is easy…once you’ve separated the engine from the transmission.    You can pull the engine…or pull the transmission/transfer case/bell housing.  Because this is quite a chore, there is usually a strong probability of “project creep”.  Project creep happens because lots of us end up doing other projects that require the engine or transmission to be pulled, so we decide to do them while the drive train is separated.  This can be as minor as cleaning and repainting the firewall…right up to heavier jobs like rear main seal replacements or transmission rebuilds.
The two most difficult aspects for me…

1.   Separating the bell housing from the engine.  The top bolts are difficult to get at.  They are difficult to get apart and to re-assemble.
2.   Aligning the transmission input shaft into the newly replaced clutch disc.  Stab, stab, shift, stab…then do this a dozen more times.  Every once in a while, they slide together on the first shot…but this is rare.

There are tricks for both tasks.  Without getting too wordy, it might be best to go over these when you’re ready to take it apart. 
2-1949 CJ3As
1-1946 CJ2A

Offline Squishymonster

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2019, 01:39:24 PM »